July 30–Christmas in July Day 6: Leather State Ornament

This project ended up being one that I had to just wing but I loved the idea of it so much I was determined to make it work! I got the original idea from a post by Emma Chapman over at A Beautiful Mess. I love the metallic leather she used:

leatherstate

I think I had my heart set on that metallic leather but I couldn’t find it. I settled for an interesting lavender color but I felt like it was too flimsy to hold up so I cut out two of the Kentucky template (I just searched online for a picture and printed it out to use a stencil) and sandwiched a piece of cardboard between them. I think it holds up much better that way and it was super easy to stitch around the edge. This one went quickly–the hardest part was actually finding the leather. If I ever find the metallic leather, I will definitely make another one of these 🙂

DSC_2926

Leave a Reply

