July 13ish–Quest Mug Cake

Okay, so it was bound to happen. I did not do a pin on July 13th…I could blame it on the fact that I had to shuttle kids around and do some other adult-y things, but let’s be honest: it was lack of motivation. So to make it up for it I am going to double up on pins today and count one for yesterday…because it’s my Summer of Pinterest and I can change the rules if I want to! The pin I chose to do for yesterday (which I really did today…confusing, right?) is a mug cake using Quest protein powder. I received some free packets of Quest protein powder and was holding on to the vanilla one specifically for this pin. I love a good mug cake and have really missed them since I have been avoiding extra carbs. This seemed like a good compromise and I had all the ingredients on hand.

ABM_1436894414

It took longer to clean up after myself than it did to make this from start to finish! And it has the potential to be REALLY good. I followed the recipe exactly and it was quite dense and a little dry. I added a few mini chocolate chips and a bit of Arctic Zero “ice cream” to it though and it was pretty tasty. I think the next time I make it, I will either use a little more egg white or do one whole egg and 1 egg white to see if I can fluff it up a bit. Also, I will probably microwave it in 30 second increments to make sure it doesn’t overcook. But the coconut oil and coconut flour did give it a little boost in the flavor department and overall I am happy with the results. Just a few tweaks and I think this will end up being a go-to quick sweet treat for me!

I will post the actual project for today later on…I still haven’t finished that one!

Leave a Reply

