June 9–Protein cookie recipe

I love a good cookie recipe and this one seemed promising because it’s packed with protein, makes a small batch (so I won’t overeat!), and fits in with my healthy lifestyle. I got the recipe from this website where the author raved over these cookies…so I gathered my ingredients, and got started.

DSC_2566

It really was super easy after I finally made some measurement conversions. FYI, 1/4 package of Jell-O is equal to 1/2 teaspoon and 1/4 package of pudding is equal to 1 3/4 teaspoons. I didn’t even need to get my mixer out, I just had to whisk it all together.

DSC_2568

I let it sit for a few minutes to thicken and then spooned out 12 pools of cookie batter…the mixture is NOT thick like regular cookie dough.

DSC_2569

At this point I taste tested to make sure the flavor wasn’t weird…it tasted pretty good! My trusty sidekick Molly also approved…

DSC_2570

I put them in the oven for 8 minutes like the recipe said. The original poster warned not to overcook them because they become hard and rubbery. After 8 minutes they didn’t look cooked at all so I left them in and checked every minute for 3 minutes. I pulled them out because I didn’t want them to overcook, but they still didn’t look done to me. After they cooled I tried one and…ewwwww. It was like a custard and not at all cookie-like. I was so grossed out I threw them away before I took a picture of the finished product. I’m not sure what I did wrong here–I might try again since I have all the ingredients on hand. Maybe I cooked them too long? Or not long enough? Maybe I should add an egg to the batter to fluff it up some? This was definitely a Pinterest FAIL, but I’m willing to try again! If anyone else tries this and succeeds, please let me know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

